Office of the Chancellor

In a spirit of servant leadership, the Chancellor serves the Bishop and the Church in Central and Eastern Montana for the glory of God and the salvation of souls within the Diocesan Curia (Canon 482.1). 

The Chancellor is charged with five key areas of responsibility: to fulfill his duties under Canon Law, to serve as the legal liaison between parishes and the Diocesan Attorney, as Chief Operating Officer in the organization of the Chancery and the staff, to assist the Bishop with the corporate governance of the Diocese, and to support the following Chancery ministries: 

  • Life Long Faith Formation 
  • Communications
  • The Harvest
  • Archives
  • St Thomas Camp
  • Permanent Deacon Formation Program
  • Catholic Schools

The Chancellor serves on the Diocesan Personnel Board, Diocesan Pastoral Council, Diocesan Finance Council, Capitol Asset Support Corporation, and the Permanent Deacon Formation Team.

Darren Eultgen has served the Church in a variety of ways over his years in Ministry. His holds a degree is in Business Administration from the University of Missouri and a Masters of Divinity from Aquinas Institute of Theology at Saint Louis University. He has served as a Pastoral Associate in the Diocese of Springfield, IL (1998-2001), Parish Life Coordinator (Canon 517.2) in the Diocese of Belleville, IL (2001-2011) and in the Diocese of Green Bay, WI (2011-2013). He began his service as Chancellor in the Diocese of Great Falls-Billings in January of 2013.


Darren Eultgen